Coms 261 Lectures

Fall 2013


Lecture Date Sections Topic (pdf)
1 Wed, Aug 28 1.1 Introduction
  Thu, Aug 29   Laboratory 0
2 Fri, Aug 30 1.2 Computer Organization
3 Mon, Sep 2 1.3 Programming Languages
4 Wed, Sep 4 2.7 - 2.10 Fundamental Data Types
  Thu, Sep 4   Laboratory 1
5 Fri, Sep 6 2.6, 2.13, 2.15 C++ Expressions
6 Mon, Sep 9 3.2, 3.3 Mixing Types
7 Wed, Sep 11 2.2, 3.1 - 3.2, 3.6 Input, Output, and Operators
  Thu, Sep 12   Laboratory 2
8 Fri, Sep 13 1.6 Program Development
9 Mon, Sep 16 2.11, 4.1, 4.7 Boolean Expressions
10 Wed, Sep 18   Project 1 Discussion
  Thu, Sep 19   Laboratory 3
11 Fri, Sep 20 4.2 - 4.6 Decision Structures
12 Mon, Sep 23 4.2 - 4.6 Multi-way Decisions
13 Wed, Sep 25 5.8 - 5.9 while Loops
  Thu, Sep 26   Laboratory 4
14 Fri, Sep 27 5.1 - 5.6 for Loops
15 Mon, Sep 30   Discussion of Project 2
16 Wed, Oct 2 6.3 - 6.4 Function Usage
  Thu, Oct 3   Laboratory 5
17 Fri, Oct 4 6.1 - 6.4 Programmer-Defined Functions
18 Mon, Oct 7 6.5, 6.10, 6.13 Scope and Parameter Passing
19 Wed, Oct 9 6.12 Constant Parameters and Default Values
  Thu, Oct 10   Laboratory 6
  Fri, Oct 11   Test 1
20 Mon, Oct 14   xxx
21 Wed, Oct 16   xxx
  Thu, Oct 17   Laboratory 7
22 Fri, Oct 18   Function Overloading
23 Wed, Oct 23   Discussion of Project 3
  Thu, Oct 24   Laboratory 8
24 Fri, Oct 25   Classes
25 Mon, Oct 28   The Class Construct, part 1
26 Wed, Oct 30   The Class Construct, part 2
  Thu, Oct 31   Laboratory 9
27 Fri, Nov 1   The Class Construct, part 3
28 Mon, Nov 4   Discussion of Project 4
29 Wed, Nov 6   Abstract Data Types
  Thu, Nov 7   Laboratory 10
30 Fri, Nov 8   The Rational Class
31 Mon, Nov 11   The RandomInt Class
32 Wed, Nov 13   Arrays
  Thu, Nov 14   Laboratory 11
33 Fri, Nov 15   Input and Output of Arrays
34 Mon, Nov 18   Discussion of Project 5
35 Wed, Nov 20   List Processing
30 Thu, Nov 21   Laboratory 12
  Fri, Nov 22   Test 2
  Mon, Nov 25   Sorting an Array - Simple Algorithms
36 Mon, Dec 2   Sorting an Array - The Quick Sort
37 Wed, Dec 4   Searching an Array - Sequential Search
  Thu, Dec 5   Laboratory 13
38 Fri, Dec 6   Searching an Array - Binary Search
39 Mon, Dec 9   Recursive Binary Search