Math 111 Lectures and Assignments

Spring 2018


No. Date Sections Lecture Assignment
Chapter 10 - The Mathematics of Finance
1 Mon, Jan 15   Introduction None
2 Wed, Jan 17 10.2 Simple Interest Ch. 10: 17, 18, 25, 26, 67
3 Fri, Jan 19 10.3 Compound Interest Ch. 10: 27, 28, 31, 32, 41, 42, 43, 44, 70
4 Mon, Jan 22 10.3 Building up an Annuity
(Financial Formulas)
Annuity Exercises: 1 - 5
(Annuity Exercises)
5 Wed, Jan 24   Drawing down an Annuity Annuity Exercises: 6 - 10
(Annuity Exercises)
6 Fri, Jan 26 10.4 Installment Loans Ch. 10: 57, 58, 59, 61, 62, 63
Answers to annuity problems
7 Mon, Jan 29   Inflation  
8 Wed, Jan 31   More Inflation Inflation Exercises: 1 - 10
(Inflation Exercises)
(Inflation Solutions)
Chapter 1 - The Mathematics of Elections
9 Fri, Feb 2 1.1 - 1.3 The Plurality and Borda Count Methods Ch. 1: 11, 13, 15, 16, 21, 25, 27, 29
10 Mon, Feb 5 1.4 The Plurality-with-Elimination Method Ch. 1: 31, 32, 33, 35, 37, 38, 69a
Rework 31, 32, and 33 using Coombs' method
11 Wed, Feb 7 1.5 The Pairwise-Comparison Method Ch. 1: 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50
12 Fri, Feb 9 1.6 Arrow's Impossibility Theorem Ch. 1: 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56
Chapter 2 - The Mathematics of Power
13 Mon, Feb 12 2.1 Weighted Voting Ch. 2: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
14 Wed, Feb 14 2.2 Banzhaf Power Ch. 2: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 69, 71
Use the webpage program for 69 and 71
Fri, Feb 16 Test 1 (Chapters 10 and 1)
15 Mon, Feb 19 2.3 Shapley-Shubik Power Ch. 2: 27, 28, 29, 30, 32, 33, 56
Chapter 3 - The Mathematics of Sharing
16 Wed, Feb 21 3.1 - 3.3 The Divider-Chooser Method Ch. 3: 1, 3, 5, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
17 Fri, Feb 23 3.4 The Lone-Chooser Method Ch. 3: 35, 36, 37, 38, 41, 42
18 Mon, Feb 26 3.4 Lone-Chooser Examples Same as last assignment
19 Wed, Feb 28 3.5 The Method of Sealed Bids Ch. 3: 43, 44, 46, 47, 48
Chapter 4 - The Mathematics of Apportionment
20 Fri, Mar 2 4.1 - 4.2 Apportionment Problems Ch. 4: 11, 12, 13, 14. Skip the terminology; apply Hamilton's method
Mon, Mar 5 Spring Break
Wed, Mar 7
Fri, Mar 9
21 Mon, Mar 12 4.3 Jefferson's and Adams's Methods Ch. 4: 21, 23, 34, 27
22 Wed, Mar 14 4.2 Hamilton's Method Ch. 4: 21, 23, 24, 27, 31, 32, 33, 34
23 Fri, Mar 16 4.4 Webster's Method Ch. 4: 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40
24 Mon, Mar 19 4.5 The Huntington-Hill Method - Version 1 Ch. 4: 43, 44, 45, 46, 49. Use Version 1.
25 Wed, Mar 21 4.5 The Huntington-Hill Method - Version 2 Ch. 4: 49, 50 (Version 2 with M = 10)
Fri, Mar 23 Test 2
Chapter 5 - The Mathematics of Getting Around
26 Mon, Mar 26 4.6 Apportionment Paradoxes Ch. 4: 51, 52, 55, 56, 58, 61, 62
27 Wed, Mar 28 5.2 - 5.2 Street-Routing Problems Ch. 5: 2, 3, 7, 13, 15, 19, 20, 21, 22, 27
30 Fri, Mar 30 5.3 Euler's Theorems Ch. 5: 29, 30, 31, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
29 Mon, Apr 2 5.4 Eulerization Ch. 5: 43, 44, 45, 47, 53, 54, 55
Chapter 6 - The Mathematics of Touring
30 Wed, Apr 4 6.1, 6.3 The Traveling Salesman Problem Ch. 6: 27, 28, 29, 31, 33/td>
31 Fri, Apr 6 6.4 The Nearest-Neighbor Algorithm Ch. 6: 35, 36, 37, 41, 45
32 Mon, Apr 9 6.5 The Cheapest-Link Algorithm Ch. 6: 49, 50, 51, 52, 55, 56
Chapter 8 - The Mathematics of Scheduling
33 Wed, Apr 11 7.1 - 7.3 Minimal Spanning Trees Ch. 7: 1, 3, 7, 35, 37, 39, 40, 45
34 Fri, Apr 13 8.1 - 8.2 Scheduling and Digraphs Ch. 8: 4, 12, 13, 14, 16, 19, 20
35 Mon, Apr 16 8.3 Priority List Scheduling Ch. 8: 4, 10, 11, 16, 18, 21, 22
36 Wed, Apr 18 8.4 The Decreasing-Time Algorithm Ch. 8: 43, 44, 45, 46, 49
Fri, Apr 20 Test 3
37 Mon, Apr 23 8.5 The Backflow Algorithm Ch. 8: 51ab, 53a, 54a, 57a, 58
38 Wed, Apr 25 8.5 The Critical-Path Algorithm Same as previous assignment
39 Fri, Apr 27   Summary and Review
Tue, May 1 Final Exam (1:30 pm - 4:30 pm)